Print Share


With a 70-year history, and recently known as the Safety Institute of Australia, the Australian Institute of Health & Safety (AIHS), its origins belonging to a small group of students who enrolled in and attended the first industrial Safety and Accident Prevention course conducted by the (then) Melbourne Technical College in 1948. This group remained together and formed nucleus of the Safety Engineering Society of Australia and held regular monthly meetings.

Membership of the society expanded steadily and reached the stage where every state had formed a division. With time, it became apparent that the term “Safety Engineering” in the society’s name had an implied bias and emphasised only one of the many disciplines associated with the effective control of accidents, injuries and diseases. As a result, the Safety Institute of Australia (SIA) was incorporated in 1977 with a new constitution and members of the society became members of the new SIA.

AIHS has a long and proud history in working with regulators, employers, unions and government departments in the pursuit of more effective health and safety policy, regulation and in particular, practice. Today across Australia, the AIHS has over 4,000 individual members and partnerships with over 60 companies who share our vision for safe and healthy workers in productive workplaces.

Annual Reports & Strategic Plan

Please scroll to view the full table.

AIHS Presidents/Chairs

Patrick Murphy (CFSIA - ChOHSP)

2013 - CURRENT

David Skegg (CFSIA - ChOHSP)

2002 - 2005

Bill Lessels

1986 - 1987

Malcolm Burgin (CFSIA - ChOHSP)

2012 - 2013

Geoff Dell (CFSIA)

1996 - 2002

Frank Davis

1985 - 1986

Sue Pilkington (CFSIA - ChOHSP)

2010 - 2012

Gill Ross (FSIA)

1994 - 1996

Laurie Mason

1983 - 1985

Barry Silburn (CFSIA)

2008 - 2010

Brian Emerson (FSIA)

1992 - 1994

Lyle Leibhardt 

1979 - 1983

Geoff Dell (CFSIA)

2007 - 2008

Ivon Northage 

1991 - 1992

Ron Moulds

1977 - 1979

Phil Lovelock (CFSIA - ChOHSP)

2005 - 2006

Gary Knobel 

1987 - 1991

K. Isbester

1976 - 1977


Life Members

Gill (Donald) Ross

FSIA (Hon)

Sheryl Dell


Ern Millard


Barry Silburn

FSIA (Hon) 

Neville Betts


Neil Dine

FSIA (Hon)

John Moroney

FSIA (Hon)

David Skegg


Stephen Brindley


Patrick Doherty


Patrick Murphy (WA)


Robert Tacy


Fred Catlin


Roger Fairfax 


Peter Nuzum

FSIA (Hon)

Geoffrey Taylor 


Gary Chaplin

FSIA (Hon)

Terry Farr

FSIA (Hon)

Allan Pearce


Jim Toshach

FSIA (Hon)

Cipriano Corva

FSIA (Hon)

Geoffrey Hitchings

FSIA (Hon)

Frederick Randall


Glyn Williams

FSIA (Hon)

Frank Davis

FSIA (Hon)

Les Jackson


Richard Ridout

FSIA (Hon)

Ralph Willson

FSIA (Hon) 

Dr Geoffrey Dell


Trevor Love

FSIA (Hon)

Philip Lovelock

FSIA (Hon)

Dr Margaret Cook

FSIA (Hon)

David Randall


John Kirwan

FSIA (Hon)

A/Prof Janis Jansz

FSIA (Hon)

Ted Leeson


Patrick Lawrence



Honorary Fellows (if not also Life Members)

Michael Chan  

Niki Ellis

Trevor Jensen

Jocelyn Plovits

Alan Clayton

Dennis Else

Sylvia Kidziak  

Don Schofield  

Michael Costello

Brian Gibson 

Gary Lawson-Smith

Rob Seljak

Jean Cross 

Grace Grace

John McDonald

Barry Sherriff

Martin Dolan

Donald Hector 

John Merritt 

Derek Viner

Andrew Douglas 

 Julie Honore

Michele Patterson   

John Watson 


Lifetime Achievement

Ciaran MacCarron (FSIA)

Leo Ruschena (CFSIA)

Michael Tooma (FSIA)


Harold Greenwood Thomas Award

Professor Mike Capra (FSIA) - 2019

Dr Geoff Dell (CFSIA, FSIA (Hon)) - 2011

Neville Betts (CFSIA, FSIA (Hon)) - 2005

Pam Pryor (CFSIA - ChOHSP) - 2003