Work Safe Awards Western Australia 2012 Nominations

Thursday, 3 May, 2012 - 10:00
Industry news

Nominations for the Work Safety Awards Western Australia 2012 are now open. WorkSafe WA Commissioner Lex McCulloch said on Tuesday that the Awards were an opportunity to gain valuable acknowledgment of excellent safety management, solutions and innovations in Western Australian workplaces.

“The Work Safety Awards Western Australia are a chance for individuals, groups, organisations and enterprises to gain not just local but also national recognition for their good work in the occupational safety and health arena,” said Mr Mc McCulloch.

“They recognise and reward outstanding achievements in any of four categories that reduce the risk of work-related injury and disease.

“The Western Australian winners in all categories are automatically entered into the Australia-wide Safe Work Australia Awards and a chance for valuable national recognition.

“In past years, two of our very innovative Western Australians have gone on to win at the national level and reap the benefits of national recognition.”

The 2012 Award categories are:

Best workplace safety and health management system (private and public sector)

Best workplace safety and health practices in small business;

Best solution to an identified workplace safety and health issue; and

Best individual contribution to workplace safety and health (with or without formal OSH responsibilities).

Nominations for the Work Safety Awards Western Australia 2012 will close on July 6. Category winners will be announced at the Safe Work Australia month breakfast in October. Category winners in the National Safe Work Australia Awards will be announced in April 2013.

“I am consistently seeing excellent occupational safety and health practices in Western Australian organisations, and it is important that we recognise and acknowledge this publicly,” said Mr McCulloch.

“Any achievement in workplace safety and health – whether it be an everyday individual achievement or a large-scale initiative – could be worthy of a Work Safety Award WA in 2012.

“It’s important that organisations are given the opportunity to celebrate their success together with their employees because everyone benefits from good workplace safety and health practice.”

Entry forms and Award criteria for the Awards can be accessed through the WorkSafe website or by calling WorkSafe on 1300 307877.

Annual Safe Work Australia Awards

The annual Safe Work Australia Awards acknowledge excellence in work health and safety at a government, organisational and individual level. They are the renowned national platform for recognising outstanding contributions to work health and safety in Australia.

To enter the annual Safe Work Australia Awards, participants must be a winner in their respective category in the state, territory, Seacare or Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Commission (SRCC) level awards.