New Chair and Deputy Chair to lead the College of Fellows

Thursday, 7 April, 2022 - 12:45
Member update
National News

The AIHS Board is pleased to announce a new Chair and Deputy Chair to lead the College of Fellows (CoF).

The current Chair of the College, Nathan Winter, is moving on from the role, and we thank him for his valuable service in the last year during a period of change.

Our new College Chair: Professor Dino Pisaniello

Dino is an Adjunct Professor and a recently retired Director of Exposure Science and Health in the School of Public Health at the University of Adelaide. He is also a Past President of the Australian Institute of Occupational Hygienists and, from 2001 to 2005 was the Chairman of the Congress of Occupational Safety and Health Association Presidents.

Dino has published more than 250 scientific papers and technical reports. His publications address hazards in mining, manufacturing, defence, healthcare, agriculture, domestic and office environments, work and vision and climate change impacts on health. He has expertise in chemical hazard risk assessment and management, occupational and environmental epidemiology, intervention research, and health and safety education.

In taking on the role, Dino said “I’m particularly keen to build the research and advocacy capability of the Institute, growing the strength of our voice as a profession”. One of Dino’s first acts will be to set up and lead a research group and he intends to use a strengths-based approach to engage with members of the College.

Creating the position of Deputy Chair

The Board took the decision to create the role of Deputy Chair for two main reasons:

  • We felt that together, Dino and Sarah have a wonderful range of complementary skills that can immediately be brought to bear to instil new energy into the process of having the College use its combined knowledge and wisdom of fellows to help lead the Institute to strong growth; and

  • The role of Chair of College is an extensive one, which combines with the additional responsibilities of a Board role. Creating the position of Deputy Chair helps spread the load.

Our Inaugural Deputy Chair: Sarah Cuscadden

Sarah is a Fellow of the AIHS and is currently Worldwide Senior Safety Leadership & Engagement Manager at Amazon, after a significant stint in the building industry as Group HSE Manager at Probuild Constructions. She was a finalist in the 2021 Australian Financial Review BOSS Young Executive and the 2018 Recipient of the National Association for Women in Construction Safety Professional of the Year.

Sarah has a particular interest in leadership and supporting stronger engagement with HSE leaders throughout the marketplace, as well as supporting growth in membership. Her first role will be Chairing a new Leadership committee. “One of my goals is to make Fellowship something that’s sought after by Australia’s best health and safety leaders“ she said.

Dino and Sarah join the existing hardworking Executive group of the college who each have a portfolio of their own: Dr Peta Miller (Awards) Sue Botrill (Ethics), Pam Pryor (Body of Knowledge), Jeremy Clay (Standards) Deb Burlington (Mentorship), and Dino will be leading a review of the College with an eye to considering how it can be more dynamic in its support of the Institute’s strategic agenda.

We look forward to the wealth and governance and leadership experience Dino will bring to the role, as well as Sarah’s experience working directly in the field of health and safety leadership. I’m sure all Fellows will wish Dino and Sarah well, acknowledge the great ongoing work of the existing Executive, and thank Nathan Winter for his contribution.