Event Details

Thursday, 23 June, 2022 - 07:30 to 09:30
Australian Eastern Standard Time (AEST)


SMC Sydney Masonic Centre
66 Goulburn Street
Sydney NSW 2000


Face-to-face ticket: AIHS Member: $75+GST I  Non-Member: $115+GST
Live-stream ticket: AIHS Member: $30+GST I  Non-Member: $65+GST


Event Organising Body: 
Australian Institute of Health & Safety
(03) 8336 1995



The Australian Institute of Health & Safety invites you to attend the 2022 Dr Eric Wigglesworth AM Memorial Lecture on Thursday 23 June to hear Professor Sharon Parker deliver this years memorial lecture: Proactive Adaptivity: Designing Digital Work for Health, Well-Being and Performance

In this presentation, Professor Parker will outline some of the big challenges ahead for work and workers that are emerging as a result of digital technologies. On the one hand, these technologies bring enormous opportunities for work and society, replacing ‘dull, dirty, and dangerous work’, and augmenting human performance in powerful ways. On the other hand,  the technologies, and the work practices they enable, also bring significant risks for work and workers as well, ranging from the eradication of employment opportunities all together, to the creation of work that is more intense, lacking in control, and extensively monitored, amongst other such risks.

Against this backdrop, Parker argues that organizational professionals need to adapt to these changes, making strategic and operational decisions that support human worker health, well-being and performance. On the current trajectory, there is a real danger that we will see both more catastrophic events like Robodebt and flight crashes, as well as insidious negative outcomes such as growing levels of worker burnout. But she goes further, arguing that adaptivity alone is insufficient and that professionals from diverse disciplines need to work together proactively to shape the design of technology, work and new ways of working. Using positive and negative examples from multiple sectors and multiple countries, Professor Parker will make a case for a revitalised sociotechnical approach that is simultaneously adaptive and proactive.

Within this session we will also be presenting the 2021 AIHS National OHS Education Award winners.

This event will also be LIVE streamed Nationally.

Event Details
Date: Thursday 23 June 2022
Time: 7:30 - 9:30 AEST
Location: SMC Sydney Masonic Centre, 66 Gouldburn Rd, Sydney NSW 2000
Face-to-face ticket: AIHS Member: $75+GST I  Non-Member: $115+GST ( *includes seated breakfast)
Live-stream ticket: AIHS Member: $30+GST I  Non-Member: $65+GST

**LIVE Stream: Log-in details will be sent out to all registered participants 1-2 days prior. 
About the event

The Dr Eric Wigglesworth AM Memorial Lecture is presented in conjunction with the AIHS’s Annual Education Awards. Now in its twelfth year, the Dr Eric Wigglesworth AM Memorial Lecture is an annual event presented by the Australian Institute of Health & Safety. The event was established to recognise the pioneering contributions and engagement of Dr Wigglesworth in the field of occupational health and safety.


Your Speaker

Professor Sharon Parker

ARC Laureate Fellow Sharon K. Parker BSc (Hons, UWA; PhD Sheffield, FASSA) is a John Curtin Distinguished Professor in Organisational Behaviour in the Faculty of Business and Law, Curtin University.

Sharon is a world-leading researcher on the topic of work design, as well as other topics such as proactivity, mental health and job performance. She is a recipient of one of the most prestigious research fellowships in Australia, the Australian Research Council Laureate Fellowship. She is a Fellow of the Australian Academy of Social Sciences; and a Fellow of the US Society for Industrial and Organisational Psychology. Sharon’s research has been cited more than 26,000 times internationally and she has also been recognised as one of the world’s most influential scientists and social scientists in 2019 Highly Cited Researchers list released by the Web of Science Group, as well as the 2020 World's Top 2% Scientists list by Stanford University.

Sharon is the Director of the Centre for Transformative Work Design ( and is the Chief Investigator of the Mature Workers in Organisations stream of the Centre of Excellence in Population Ageing ( She has served on numerous editorial boards and is a former Associate Editor for the highest impact management journal, Academy of Management Annals and the leading organisational psychology journal, Journal of Applied Psychology. Throughout her career, Sharon has attracted competitive research funding worth over $40,000,000.

Sharon engages regularly with leading business and government representatives. She has worked as a researcher and consultant in a wide range of public and private organisations, has delivered numerous keynote talks/executive education for practitioner audiences, and regularly engages with the media. She is a co-founder of the highly successful Thrive at Work initiative ( designed to improve mental health at work. She has published high-impact articles in the Harvard Business Review, the Conversation, and other practitioner outlets and has contributed to various government inquiries and policy reviews. She was the lead consultant on the national Good Work Design initiative, SafeWork Australia, is a member of the National Mental Health Commission National Workplace Initiative, and is regularly consulted by policymakers on topics such as flexible working and mental health.

​Sharon’s mentoring expertise has been recognised with her receiving the ARC’s Kathleen Fitzpatrick Award and the US Academy of Management OB Division Mentoring Award. She established the highly successful Women in Research initiative ( to support academic women.

​Sharon received her PhD at the University of Sheffield, UK, where she is an Honorary Professor and where she was previously Director of the Institute of Work Psychology. She is also an Honorary Fellow at the University of Western Australia. She lives in Perth, Australia with her partner and three teenage daughters.

OHS Education awards 

The AIHS OHS Education Awards provide an opportunity for University Students studying Occupational Health and Safety, who demonstrate high levels of achievement and initiative, to be recognized by The Australian Institute of Health & Safety.

During this session, we will be announcing the winners of: 
1. National OHS Education (Postgraduate) Award
2. National OHS Education (Undergraduate) Award.
3. Dr. Eric Wigglesworth OHS Education (Research) Award.